Posted in Juno Awards, Other Music Awards

Arcade Fire tops JUNO Awards Nominations with six


The nominations for the 43rd Annual JUNO Awards have just been revealed. Arcade Fire scored six nominations including Album of the Year and Alternative Album of the Year for Reflektor. This is even one more nod than the five they got from their masterpiece and GRAMMY-Award winning, The Suburbs. The Montreal ensemble is also up for Group of the Year, a category they previously won in 2008 and 2011, they are also up for Songwriter of the Year and, for the very first time, to the JUNO Fan Choice Award. The song “Reflektor” received a nod for Single of the Year. They are battling this category with Classified ft. David Myles for “Inner Ninja”; Michael Bublé for “It’s A Beautiful Day”; Serena Ryder for “What I Wouldn’t Do”; and Tegan and Sara for “Closer”.

Michael-Bublé-16Michael Bublé and Serena Ryder follows them  with five nominations each. Both artists are in for the JUNO Fan Choice Award, Artist of the Year, and Album of the Year for To Be Loved and Harmony, respectively.  Jacob Hoggard, lead singer of the BC band Hedley, also received five nominations, one of them for the Jack Richardson Producer of the Year award.

Céline Dion scored her 13th nomination for Album of the Year with Loved Me Back to Life. She also received three more nods for the JUNO Fan Choice Award, Artist of the Year, and the Adult Contemporary Album of the Year. Rapper Drake also scored and the indie-pop twin duo, Tegan and Sara, also grabbed four nods each.

Robin Thicke, on the other hand, received three nominations for Artist of the Year, JUNO Fan Choice, and Pop Album for Blurred Lines. Surprisingly enough his single “Blurred Lines” was snubbed. However, the reason might be that it didn’t have much Canadian input on it.

Following are the nominations for the main categories:

JUNO Fan Choice Award

  • Arcade Fire
  • Avril Lavigne
  • Céline Dion
  • Drake
  • Hedley
  • Justin Bieber
  • Michael Bublé
  • Robin Thicke
  • Serena Ryder
  • Walk Off the Earth

Album of the Year

  • Arcade Fire ─ Reflektor
  • Céline Dion ─ Loved Me Back to Life
  • Drake ─ Nothing Was the Same
  • Michael Bublé ─ To Be Loved
  • Serena Ryder ─ Harmony

Single of the Year

  • Arcade Fire ─ “Reflektor”
  • Classified ft. David Myles ─ “Inner Ninja”
  • Michael Bublé ─ “It’s A Beautiful Day”
  • Serena Ryder ─ “Why Wouldn’t I”
  • Tegan and Sara ─ “Closer”

International Album of the Year

  • Bruno Mars ─ Unorthodox Jukebox
  • Eminem ─ The Marshall Mathers LP 2
  • Imagine Dragons ─ Night Visions
  • One Direction ─ Take Me Home
  • P!nk ─ The Truth About Love

Click here for a full list of nominees

The 2014 JUNO Awards will take place on March 30th at the MTS Centre in Winnipeg, Manitoba. The first set of performers include Tegan and Sara; Walk off the Earth; Serena Ryder; Robin Thicke; and City and Colour.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s